Blogging

I guess I should say why I started this and probably explain the haphazard nature of the posts.

I’m a final year student in my college, I’ve been climbing on and off since I came here nearly five years ago. Currently three weeks away from the dread assignment we know here as a “FYP” (Final year project, effectively a thesis for your bachelor).  So I’m stuck indoors a lot which in Ireland isn’t too bad with a lot of rain in the winter/spring/the entire year! This is my self-designated stress-buster.

I’m in the library alot near my sources and it seems everyone I know is there, all stressing out over getting this in, graduating, their love lives, their family, their plans for next year. I’m fairly relaxed but this is quite cathartic for me, I get to vent on a reasonably anonymous blog and it reminds me of happier times abroad and outdoors. I just seem to be the one people like to vent to (maybe because I appear well-adjusted, not sure) which I don’t mind but there is the odd time where I feel a bit down and want to tell people “I’ve had enough! Only so much can be handled!”. I hate drama. I feel guilty on-loading this on friends myself but c’est la vie. Five classes, a thesis, club administrative work and trying to live a life and deal with anyother shite the world tosses at you. Thank Christ I’ve no girlfriend, she’d get no time!

But in May all of this will be behind me, I’ll be off working in Switzerland for 9 weeks and after that I’m climbing Kilimanjaro and Elbrus back to back with my friends from the club as part of an expedition (more on this to follow). It’ll be a great summer, just have to do my penance now and get it over with. From there, a job somewhere. More on that another time. Unhappiness is a state of mind, I’m a lot luckier than millions of other people and at the end of the day don’t have problems comparable to anyone in Syria, Ukraine or half a dozen other places. I should be thankful.

So sorry if this seems whingey or anarchic at times. It’ll get better as we move chronologically, I’ll have more assignments done and be talking about cooler stuff. For now its 16th century Spanish history, grammar systems, feminist literature and rainy days. On a plus, I’m on the wagon till the FYP is in 😀

Thanks for all those who followed me, I’ll have something exciting here with check this out, Winters in Ireland! Proof that when we get the ideal conditions, its almost as good as Scotland. Me, I love Scotland but if we got proper winters here, I’d kill to be out climbing in my free time, rarely get to use the axes and crampons. Have some more posts up tonight or tomorrow.

Whoa. This started off as a paragraph just saying I’m recanting my tales and wanting to get back writing. It turned out like an essay on whining! Looks like the typing just brought it all out. And it feels good to have it down. No worries.

Sláinte

Ferg

1398236_248226245337269_1485471457_o

“Somewhere I’d rather be”. The author back home in Kerry, Macha na Bó.

About Ropaire

Dia daoibh agus fáilte go dtí mo bhlag! My name's Fearghal and you can find my musings and ramblings split over www.ropaire.wordpress.com and www.ceitherne.wordpress.com. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Ireland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

